“Is butter a carb?”

 

mean girls coverMean Girls is a classic that gave us oh-so-many T-shirt quotes.

Boo, you whore!

Whatever, I’m getting cheese fries.

I’m a mouse, duh!

I’m not a regular mom, I’m a cool mom!

There’s a 30% chance it’s already raining!

…I could go on forever…

Tina Fey blessed us with this comedy back in 2004, and I remember thinking it was so risqué. It made me feel like a real teenage girl when I watched it. I watched it today, over a decade later, and it’s still the best. However, there are many fashion trends I noticed that are thankfully GONE. Here’s a list of things you forgot about, prepare to be embarrassed.

skirts

Skirts and bellybuttons. Admit it, we all had the pleated mini skirts, plaid skirts, denim minis…why did this seem cute? Keep your butt to yourself, ya’ll.

janis

Hair clips. They were so obnoxious, and sometimes would come in obnoxious colors! I honestly still have some of these hiding in my hair drawer…

untitled

Hoop earrings. Hoop earring were THE THING. A slicked back pony tail with some big hoops were the coolest. Of course, my parents wouldn’t let me wear too big of hoops. At that time I didn’t know why, but now I think it’s so I didn’t look like a stripper.

track suit

Track suits. These usually had “Juicy” written on the butt. How classy.

untitled1

LIP GLOSS. This one is a biggie. Everyone had lip gloss, all the time. It was especially cool if you had the little squeeze ones from Victoria’s Secret, which were super over priced.

There you go! If you want to take a walk down memory lane, pop in the movie. It’s an easy hour and 36 minutes long, full of drama that literally doesn’t matter when you’re over the age of 18. Ah, back when radios were used for music instead of Spotify, you could 3-way call your besties, and there were physical books for burning your classmates instead of a facebook.

~Eleni

Leave a Reply

